Ranger Firearms offers monthly Florida Concealed Carry classes at our store in Fort Walton Beach.
Classes are usually held on the 2nd Tuesday of every month from 6:30 – 8:30 and cost $50. When demand is high, we offer more classes.
The class meets all Florida requirements for the education requirement for the CCW permit. Once you take the class, you apply for your permit at the Department of Agriculture Office ($112 for 7 years) in Fort Walton Beach and your permit arrives by mail.
Classes are limited to 20 people, so please call (850) 862-5486, email firstname.lastname@example.org, use the form below, or visit the store to reserve your spot.
Common Questions about Florida CCW and our class:
What does your class include?
Our class covers basic handgun safety, practical considerations for concealed carry, and a brief overview of lawful use of force and the Florida concealed carry statues. This course meets all requirements for the Florida Concealed Carry ‘education’ requirement and you will receive a certificate to be used with your CCW application.
How does your class differ from others?
The Ranger Concealed Carry Basic class is, as the name implies, just the basics. This lets us keep your cost low – just $50 per student – so that you can spend the extra money on more advanced instruction, towards your carry gun, practice ammo, or other things. We do not provide photos, background checks, or fingerprints – but these are not required for those who apply in person for the permit (which is highly recommended for those in the Fort Walton Beach area).
What do I do to get my Permit after the class?
There are 2 ways to apply for a Florida Concealed Carry permit.
1. You can apply by mail in which case you must submit photos and fingerprints along with your class certificate. By mail, permits normally take 30-90 days to process.
2. You can apply in person at participating Department of Agriculture Field Offices. In this case, you only need your certificate as the Agriculture Office will take your photo and fingerprints as part of the process. Fort Walton Beach has a field office, so this is usually the fastest, simplest way to get your permit.
How much does the Concealed Carry Permit cost?
To figure the cost of your permit, be sure to include both the cost of your CCW class and the Florida permit application fees (which are not collected during a class). For those who use our class, your cost is $50 to Ranger and then $112 at the Dept of Agriculture for a total cost of $162.00.
Are there exceptions to the Class requirement?
The most common exception is for current and prior members of the US Armed Forces and law enforcement. For military, a current military ID is all that is required. For separated and retired service members, the DD214 can be used. In either case, we recommend you still seek out some type of CCW training as there is a lot more to concealed carry than is taught in typical military gun qualification.
Class Sign-Up & Information Request (please include a valid e-mail or phone #)
Comments or questions are welcome.
Powered by Fast Secure Contact Form